Listen To The Mustn’ts…

“Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.”  – Shel Silverstein

I am going to write a children’s book in 5 weeks. Just like that I’m going to do it. I don’t think I have written any sort of story since grade school and even then I don’t know that is was very good. I am also nervous about my illustration abilities, but as my husband sweetly told me last night, every time I try to do something I don’t think I can do, I end up pulling it off. So, Im just going to do it.

There has always been a place in my heart that has wished that I had the opportunity to write something. Even bigger part has always wished I could write a children’s book. How cool would it be to create a world for children to escape too? I am not the best writer, my spelling is atrocious and my grammar is sub-par but I love doing it. Despite my struggle with a topic each week and my inability to follow my tuesday morning deadline, I love writing this blog.

I know what I like and don’t like about children’s books. Although its been a while I still remember the key elements of the books of my childhood that I loved so much. Those things compiled with the confines of my drawing ability, humans are out as they are too difficult/stressful/complicated for me to draw, I could very well pull this off.

Not only will Shel Silverstein be an influence on this book, he will also be a huge inspiration. I can still picture the quirky drawings and the words to my favorite poems despite the years that have passed since I last opened one of his books. His book Runny Babbit, inspired the name Funny Runny Ren.

The basis behind my book is two girls who are the bestest of friends. They used to live next door to each other but then one of the girl’s Dads got a job in another city so they had to move. But with a little imagination and the right words, they go on adventures together in their own world. They will be lovable fluffy monsters, and nothing in their imagined world will quite make sense. Their real world will mimic ours in some ways but still be different.

My biggest challenge is going to write a book that the 5 year old version of myself would be proud of. To let go off all the social conformity and what I know to be reality and really challenge my imagination. To create a believable but unrealistic world for my monster’s to live in. Chances are the basis for the story will change everyday that I work on it. But hopefully by thanksgiving I will have a complete book that I can send off to print.

-r.n.a

If you have any time please check out Shel Silverstein’s website and watch the whole intro. It is amazing.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

