Grouchy and Boxless…

Today I got annoyed because I have too much free time. Well I have been annoyed about it for the last few days but today was the first day I was able to identify why I have been so grouchy.

Who gets grouchy over finally having free time after months of being so busy there was rarely time to sleep? Crazy people that’s who.

I hate being annoyed so I am moving on to figuring out how to best utilize all of this free time I have graciously been given. I figured I would start with updating my blog.

Big things have been happening for me. Not only did I survive my first year at Maine College of Art but I survived my first year of marriage. Both very scary things to undertake.

I am beyond happy with my decision to transfer to MECA. The classes I have taken and the people I have met there has changed how I look at my future as an artist. I took an Intro to Metalsmithing class that was so hard this last semester at Maine College of Art that despite all of the effort I put in to it I only managed a C+ for my final grade. This was a huge hit to my pride. In my mind, there is pass or fail. If you pass you get an ‘A’ if you fail you get a ‘B’.  I realize that way of thinking makes zero sense but nothing I do really makes sense.  Looking back it is funny because I worked harder in that class then I worked in any of the classes I received an ‘A’ in. Not only was it a humbling experience but I now know, without a doubt, that I will never be a metalsmith. I have a huge amount of respect for anyone in that line of work. It is exhausting and so meticulous I do not know how a degree in Metalsmithing does not come with a life time supply of Prozac.

I think every one, especially artists, should take a class in something completely foreign to them. It changes your perspective.

My Intro to Woodworking class changed my perspective so much I am now pursuing a degree in Woodworking and Furniture Design. I literally made my self sick trying to make this decision (another one of those things I do that make no sense.) One week of excessive worrying over whether or not the world would end if I changed my major equalled one week of being stuck in bed with the flu.

The lesson I learned from that winner was that no one cares what my major is, not even me. Regardless of what my fancy certificate says from my fancy art school, I am going to pursue all different art mediums and utilize the ones that I feel best convey the ideas swimming in my head. For me it makes very little sense to isolate myself inside of one medium. I do not want to master one medium, I want to master art. I do not want to be identified as a Photographer or Woodworker but as an Artist. I am tired of trying to fit into neatly labeled boxes that clearly states who I am and what type of art I will produce. It does not work for me. It makes me cranky and takes all the fun out of art. I tried to fit into the Fine Art Photographer box and a year later I wanted to throw my camera off a bridge.

It’s taken me another year of trying to find the box I fit into for me to realize boxes in general are stupid, but I am extremely bull-headed and it takes a while for me to catch on. Hopefully I can stand by my anti-box stance and finally just focus on making art that I enjoy.

As always, thanks for reading.

-r.n.a.

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Grouchy and Boxless…

  1. mom says:

    We are so proud of you no matter what you choose, as long as your happy, we are happy for you. So far you have been making all good decisions and learning from all the choices. All my love always,
    Mom

  2. Judi says:

    I’m so lucky to have such intelligent, hardworking women in my life. Very well written Ren and I love the photo.

Leave a Reply

