So far this semester…

The first month of school is wrapping up and I wanted to share with you what I have been working on so far. It also may be a homework assignment for a class I am taking to update a blog weekly but thats not important.

This is my first semester as a junior in woodworking. It is extremely satisfying to build things and explore 3-dimensionally. We started the semester with a week long project. The final product was supposed to represent our summer. After a lot of editing, I decided the major part of my summer was taking the workshop at Center for Furniture Craftsmanship and reconnecting with photography. This year I hope to marry the two mediums as often as I can in new and unexpected ways. The base of the lamp is a simple half-blind dovetail joint made out of cherry. The cherry was left over from the workshop and the joint was by far my favorite to learn. The lamp shade is made out of 8mm film left in a Kodak Super 8 camera I bought over the summer as well as 35mm film that I used to capture a few vintage baseball games while visiting my hometown in Delaware. Overall I am happy with the masculine industrial feel I think the lamp portrays as it lends itself to the images of the baseball game you catch glimpses off when the lamp is turned on.

I am also taking a photography class this semester. I am learning how to use a large format camera. It is extremely rewarding and exciting to learn how to use such a old method of photography and to get back in the darkroom again. The first half of the semester is focused on learning how to manipulate the camera and properly develop the film. I am learning so much and realizing just how much I already know. I am looking forward to the second half of the semester where we begin to work on a final body of work.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It hasn’t been all work and no play. I was lucky enough to be invited to go on a over night sailing trip with Maine Maritime’s Yacht Club. The trip was amazing and confirmed that a good part of my future will be sailing the world with my husband. There is something so romantic and invigorating about being out in the open salty air on a tall masted ship.

When I think about it, even the work has been more like play. Here is a shot from one of my class critiques from last week. The work was done by woodworking senior Hannah Merchant. You really can’t beat sitting outside on a beautiful fall day and discussing art.

As always, thanks for reading,

-r.n.a.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

