Finishing work…

There is no greater feeling then finishing a project. That feeling is even greater when you spend most of the project thinking it will never get done. This week I finished my first project for the bending wood class I am taking this semester that was a week and a half over due. (special thanks to a certain organ that decided it wanted out of the game at a rather inconvenient time)

The assignment was to create a piece around the idea of containment. I was immediately drawn to the idea of a nest and home. I started to research weaver birds and liked how they went out to find materials to use in building a home for a potential mate. I started to collect scrap wood left behind in the wood shop to use for my nest. Looking around my own home, at the various pieces of furniture collected from family or antique stores, the weaver bird’s process of building a home made sense to me.  Slowly the project took on a more abstract reference to my feelings about the home and my process of creating a home for my husband and I. I realized through the making of this piece that I wanted it to be more of a functional hanging lamp then a sculptural piece, which it was originally intended to be.

I want to create both conceptual and functional pieces, I want the line to be blurred as often as possible.  Before this project I thought that they needed to be two different things entirely, that I needed to choose a destination for my piece before it even left my imaginary drafting table. Not feeling like I have to design for either the home or the gallery, but instead designing for both places tears down some of the walls in my creative process. It allows me so much more freedom.

I took in-progress photos as my hanging lamp reached completion and put them into a mini slideshow so you can see how it came to be.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A great video from the BBC on the weaver birds.

 

As always, thanks for reading.

– r.n.a.

 

Tagged ,

One thought on “Finishing work…


  1. I’m sure you’ve seen the bowerbird, but I just can’t get enough of them. They make aesthetic decisions.

Leave a Reply

