Catching Up…

This week’s guest editor, Bea the Boxer.

It has been such a hectic and busy two weeks that my mind is having a hard time figuring out what to write about. Having an overly loving boxer trying to lay on your lap during the process makes it hard to focus.

This past week saw my first critique in my view camera class. I was at first excited at the idea of sharing with the class the type of work I have made with the large format camera. That of course quickly turned to dread as the time got closer for me to hang my prints to be judged. Overall it went well. I was told that my work is moody and dark, that I handle objects almost obsessively. I am not sure if the latter is a good or bad, but I found it to be true. I do seek to give life to inanimate things in an attempt to increase their worth to the viewer. I find it interesting that I approach inanimate objects in a way that presents them  if they were a live yet when I get a live subject, like a person, in front of my lens I have no idea what to do with them.

I have also made progress with my current bending project. The plan is to build two end tables by december, with a complementary coffee table being finished in the beginning of the year. The design is inspired heavily by nautical themes. As it gets colder I find myself day dreaming more and more about sailing. Often my doodles are that of sailboats or nautical forms. Instead of fighting it, I decided to implement it into a project. I started making the jigs needed to make my bends early this week and finally got my turn on the CNC router, which is one of the coolest machines I have had the experience to use. It is super nerdy and I can’t wait to use it again and again. When I return to the shop Monday, I will start the process of building the base and table tops.

   

Saturday my husband surprised me with a visit to Magic Wings, a butterfly conservatory  in Massachusetts. Despite the slightly corny name, it was the most amazing place I have ever been too. You walk into a greenhouse filled with plants and hundreds of butterflies. It was truly inspirational and the awe inspiring experience my very tired soul needed.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

