I Don’t Have Any Time…

Trying to plan meals and keep two kids entertained…

The hardest part of committing to the artist residency in motherhood has been time management. Before the residency I would spend my kid’s nap times catching up on dishes or the laundry. Now that I am trying to spend that time and any other free time in the studio other things are starting to pile up. The visual clutter is making it harder to make art a priority so I am trying to take a step back to create a schedule. Despite the ease in which I can create a mess, I do not function well in a disorganized environment.

This last week I have focused my late night internet wanderings while feeding my little one on how other people schedule their time. I finally looked into bullet journaling. Turns out I used to do a very simplified form of it in college without realizing what the trendy bloggers were calling it. I personally think the name is misleading, it’s a personalized and customizable day planner. And despite my hesitation to spend time writing down and thinking about all the things I don’t have time to do instead of doing those things, I am going to give it a shot. The goal is that by being more intentional with my time I can be more productive and feel less chaotic.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

As always, thanks for reading,

-r.n.a.

 

 

Leave a Reply

